Mercedes CLA Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey to all,

My name is James. Joined this forum because I am looking to own a CLA. Im from north NJ. I currently own a 2008 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution GSR. Looking to be able to ask everybody here for some tips and pointers. I apologize in advance if my questions are like that of a teenager. I assure you I am far from that. I am 28, my 6th year as a critical registered nurse (Emergency department, ICU, CCU). So as you can see I have very little to no experience on the business aspect of things. Again, my apologies. With that said here it goes.

First of, this will only be my 2nd vehicle that I will be owning. Hence, my lack of experience and knowledge with dealerships, negotiations, and so forth. I am currently financing my current car now with about $4k left on the contract. I have a few questions before I am ready to go to the dealership. I have read through many threads on this forum before posting so please forgive me if I am asking questions that has already been asked and answered.

1. Is it worth/safe leasing or financing? I personally don't like the idea of paying for something monthly just to walk away with nothing to show for it at the end of my contract.

2. Looking to either trade in or sell my current car. Is it better to sell my car myself, either by local ads or to autotrader or carmax.. or trade it in as a down payment and lower my monthly lease? I've read that trading it in isnt the best.. one example in an insurance aspect; if you total the car, the insurance company will only pay for the remainder of the lease..and you are left with neither your lease or your trade in.. is this true?